Oman to host 5-nation ACC tournament from January 20



Shahzad Raza

MUSCAT: In another acknowledgement of its growing stature as a cricket host, Oman has been awarded Asian Cricket Council’s 5-nation T20 tournament for the Western Region, which the Sultanate will host from January 20 to 25.

The ACC tournament will see Saudi Arabia, Maldives, Kuwait, Qatar and Bahrain in action at Oman Cricket’s picturesque twin grounds in Amerat.

Oman had recently hosted, and won, ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division Three tournament with tremendous success. Late last month, it hosted ACC Level 3 Refresher Course for Coaches that saw participants from 8 countries attending the event at Oman Cricket Academy (OCA).

 “This will be Oman’s third international event in two months as a host. We are extremely pleased and proud of the fact that with the help of our top-class infrastructure and our organizing skills we have been able to win the trust of ICC and ACC,” said an elated Madhu Jesrani, Secretary, Oman Cricket (OC).

“Oman is hosting an ACC tournament for the first time and will do its utmost to make this too a resounding success,” added Jesrani, who recently won an award as a sports icon in the country for his meritorious services for the promotion of cricket in Oman.

“ACC regularly organises tournaments for its members to help them develop the game in their respective countries and this tournament that we are hosting will be for the Western Region members,” he said.

“Oman is not participating in this tournament, but we will lend our best facilities to the participating teams to make it another memorable event for everyone,” explained the OC Secretary.

Starting on Sunday, January 20, the tournament will see Saudi Arabia taking on Bahrain and Maldives playing Kuwait in first day action.

January 21: Maldives vs Bahrain, Qatar vs Saudi Arabia.

January 22: Qatar vs Kuwait, Maldives vs Saudi Arabia.

January 23: Maldives vs Qatar, Kuwait vs Bahrain.

January 24: Kuwait vs Saudi Arabia, Qatar vs Bahrain.

All the match will start at 9.30 am but the final is scheduled to be played under lights at 7 pm on Thursday, January 24.