Amerat Royals crowned D10 champions

Amerat Royals - D10 Champions

Muscat, Oman: A rampant Amerat Royals emerged as deserving champions in the third edition of Oman D10 League, which concluded at the Oman Cricket Academy ground in Al Amerat, recently.

The title win was the first for the Royals, who displayed consistency throughout the tournament to cap their stunning run.

In an action-packed final, Amerat Royals defeated Bousher Busters by 14 runs to bring curtains down on the 11-day event, organised by Oman Cricket (OC).

Both the finalists, Amerat Royals and Bousher Busters, had registered impressive wins in the group stage. Going into the summit clash, Royals won six of their seven league games while Busters won five. The format witnessed five teams progressing into the second round, the two teams were joined by Ruwi Rangers, Ghubra Giants and Qurum Thunders. 

In the second round, Bousher Busters and Amerat Royals led the table securing three wins each to set up a title clash. 

In the final, Royals’ Jiten Ramanandi’s all-round display stole the limelight. He slammed a breezy 46 to help his side reach 109. Fawad Ali bagged 3 wickets while Aaqib Ilyas claimed two for the Busters.

Buster’s chase looked on track with Aaqib Ilyas at the crease. However, his dismissal for 39 in the seventh over proved to be the turning point.was caught in the 7th over scoring 39. Mohammed Adeeb Usmani’s 26 went in vain as Ramanandi grabbed two wickets for just 12 runs to restrict the Busters to 95/4.

The title was the first trophy for Amerat Royals of the 2023-24 season, and they will hope to carry the momentum in the upcoming Super League D50. 

The third edition of Oman D10 witnessed 40 matches and saw a total of 479 maximums and 548 boundaries being smashed while a total 381 wickets fell.

Ramanandi was adjudged Player of the Final while Ilyas was adjudged the Player of the Tournament for his allround performance (354 runs at a strike rate of 200 and 7 wickets). 

At the post-match presentation ceremony, Pankaj Khimji, Oman Cricket Chairman, handed the champions trophy to Amerat Royals’ skipper Pratik Athawale. Paul Sheridan, OC vice-chairman, handed the runners-up trophy to Bousher Busters’ captain Sufyan Mehmood.

Alkesh Joshi, OC treasurer, Mohammed Faizan Idris, ITW Universe, and Duleep Mendis, OC Chief Development Officer presented the other individual awards.

Brief scores: Amerat Royals 109/7 (Jiten Ramanandi 46 (21); Fawad Ali 3/14; Aaqib Ilyas 2/24) beat Bousher Busters 95/4 (Aaqib Ilyas 39 (19), Mohammed Adeeb Usmani 26 (18) ; Jiten Ramanandi 2/12

  • PartnersUpdated-27-11-2023

  • PartnersUpdated-27-11-2023